Persephone Says

By being your light, I wish you could see, that smothers the light in me mother, and then I become the darkness, and though it’s true that crystals form in the dark, they rely upon a divine spark of brilliance from the world else they remain invisible. If I were to have stayed and kept the spotlight shining on you, I’d have been fated to live in your shadow. I’d have carried one pomegranate seed to the surface only to be told I must return to the underworld again. You couldn’t have asked for a sweeter daughter than death. I sacrificed my own breath to keep you together. What a bargain one holds! And now I prefer the poverty of corpses. Coins on the eyes of the hungry travelers, a small price to pay to enter paradise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Greek, myth, Poem, poetry, travel, writing

Leave a comment